专利保证

简介

加密猫上线后,Dapper Labs团队为其洞察申请了一向专利,该洞察认为根据交易顺序达成共识的过程,和对这些交易输出结果的计算,可以被当作两个独立流程进行处理。这一洞察为此后福洛链的开发奠定了基础。

福洛利用该洞察来实现无须分片即可扩展的区块链环境。我们团队正努力在不久的将来为您提供第一个版本的网络。

当我们准备好在2020年将代码开源时,代码库中将包含一份专利许可,以保护那些使用我们的代码并在其基础上开发的人。

作为该领域的开拓者和创新者,我们致力于造福在福洛链上搭建业务的创造者和开发者。我们的目的不是独占专利,而是确保将贡献归于同一开源代码库。

Dapper Labs坚信开放、有趣、协作的未来,但这一切不会自然发生。我们也知道其他公司就区块链技术的各种用途申请了专利。若无拥护者捍卫一个开放、无须许可的世界,这项技术或许也无法充分发挥其潜力。

因此,我们已经为并将为对开放世界做出贡献的突破申请专利。如今,追随着其他开源友好公司的脚步,我们也就这些专利的使用作出具有法律约束力的保证。防御性专利保护对于开源社区和使用它的公司而言都是有益的。

我们的专利保证

Dapper Labs依据向我们的用户提供专利权的许可提供所有开源软件。依据适用的开源许可,一方可创造、使用、出售、要约出售、导入或转让Dapper Labs的开源软件,Dapper Labs同意不以此类行为为依据强制执行其专利权。

Dapper Labs还支持其他方开发开源产品。在下述限制范围内,一方创造、使用、出售、要约出售、导入或转让公开的开源许可软件,Dapper Labs同意不以此类行为为依据强制执行其专利权。

该保证延伸至开源软件与其他硬件或软件的组合,若所要求的创造主要体现在该组合公开的开源部分,并且该组合其他部分仅仅是起到辅助作用或属于通用技术或实践。

该保证仅限于上述开源软件,不适用于许可证下的任何其他软件,除非该软件及其源代码,在开放源代码促进会认可的许可证下,免费向公众提供。该保证亦不适用于任何硬件或硬软件组合系统,若专利要求书中有任何针对该硬件的实质性的限制条款。该保证不适用于任何违反或导致Dapper Labs为其软件申请的任何开源许可证终止的一方,也不适用于向第三方发起专利诉讼,或指控Dapper Labs或Dapper Labs任何服务构成专利侵权(包括交叉诉讼或反诉)的一方。

该保证涵盖Dapper Labs拥有的或随后获得的所有专利和专利申请。Dapper Labs有意使该保证不可撤销(除非另有说明),并且对Dapper Labs和Dapper Labs专利(和任何直接或间接从Dapper Labs专利申请中发行的专利)的受让人或继承人具有约束力和可执行力。作为保证的一部分,若Dapper Labs出售、独占许可、或向一方受让或转让专利或专利申请,我们将要求该方以书面形式同意对这些专利或这些专利申请直接或间接发行的专利遵守此保证。我们也将要求该方以书面形式约束其受让人,被转让人或独占被许可人。

依赖此保证的一方须承认,这不能保证Dapper Labs的专利是可执行的,或在Dapper Labs专利中表述的任何专利发明不会侵害他人专利或其他知识产权。对于因他人侵犯知识产权或其他形式侵权提出的相关索赔,Dapper Labs对依赖“我们的保证”的一方不承担任何责任。

Dapper Labs指的是Dapper Labs股份有限公司及其子公司和关联公司。接受此保证的“一方”也包括该方的子公司和关联公司。

Patent Promise

Introduction

Following the launch of CryptoKitties, the Dapper Labs team filed a patent on their insight that dividing the processes of coming to consensus on the order of transactions and computing the output of those transactions could be treated as two independent processes. This insight led to the development and founding of what is now known as Flow.

Flow uses this insight to achieve a blockchain environment that scales without sharding. The team is working hard to make this first version of the network available to you in the near future.

When we are ready to open source our code in 2020, the repository will include a patent license in order to protect those who use our code and build on top of it.

As pioneers and innovators in the space, we are committed to benefiting creators and developers who build their businesses on top of Flow. It is not our intention to ever enforce exclusivity of this patent but rather to ensure attribution of contributions to the same open source code base.

Dapper Labs believes in an open, fun, and collaborative future, but that won’t happen by itself. We are aware of other companies filing patents on various uses of blockchain technology. Without champions ready to defend an open, permissionless world, this technology may not live up to its potential.

For that reason, we have filed and will file patents on breakthroughs we’ll be contributing to the open world. Today, following in the footsteps of other open-source friendly companies, we are also making a legally binding promise regarding the use of these patents. A defensive approach to patents is beneficial to the open source community as well as the companies that use it.

Our Patent Promise

Dapper Labs provides all of its open source software under licenses that provide patent rights to our users. To the extent a party makes, uses, sells, offers to sell, imports, or otherwise transfers Dapper Labs’ open source software in accordance with the applicable open source license, Dapper Labs agrees not to use such actions as a basis for enforcing its patents against the party.

Dapper Labs also supports the development of the open source commons by other parties. Subject to the limitations described below, to the extent a party makes, uses, sells, offers to sell, imports, or otherwise transfers publicly-available open source-licensed software, Dapper Labs agrees not to use such actions as a basis for enforcing its patents against the party.

This promise extends to combinations of open source software with other hardware or software, if the claimed invention is substantially embodied in the publicly-available open source portion of the combination and if all other portions of the combination are merely enabling or general-purpose technologies or practices.

This promise is limited to the open source software described above. It does not apply to any software, however licensed, unless the software and its source code are available to the public at no charge under a license accepted by the Open Source Initiative. This promise does not apply to any hardware or combined hardware-software system where any substantial limiting element of the claim is embodied in such hardware. This promise does not apply to a party that breaches or causes the termination of any of the open source licenses applied by Dapper Labs to its software, or to a party that initiates patent enforcement proceedings against another party, or accuses Dapper Labs or any offering of Dapper Labs of patent infringement (including in a cross-claim or counterclaim).

This promise encompasses all patents and patent applications that Dapper Labs owns or subsequently acquires. Dapper Labs intends this promise to be irrevocable (except as stated herein), and binding and enforceable against Dapper Labs and assignees of, or successors to, Dapper Labs’s patents (and any patents directly or indirectly issuing from Dapper Labs’s patent applications). As part of this promise, if Dapper Labs sells, exclusively licenses, or otherwise assigns or transfers patents or patent applications to a party, we will require the party to agree in writing to be bound to this promise for those patents and for patents directly or indirectly issuing on those patent applications. We will also require the party to agree in writing to so bind its own assignees, transferees, and exclusive licensees.

A party relying on this promise acknowledges that this is not an assurance that Dapper Labs’ patents are enforceable or that practicing any patented inventions described in Dapper Labs’ patents does not infringe others’ patents or other intellectual property. Dapper Labs is not liable to a party relying on Our Promise for related claims brought by another based on infringement of intellectual property rights or otherwise.

Dapper Labs means Dapper Labs, Inc. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. A “party” receiving this promise also encompasses that parties subsidiaries and affiliates.