技术白皮书

福洛的技术白皮书系列明确介绍了其系统架构,并解释了系统许多细微之处。技术白皮书1和3首先发布,因为它们对于理解和评估福洛系统的健壮性至关重要,同时还包括最适用于其它项目的结果。

技术白皮书1: 分离共识与计算

第一篇白皮书描述了位于福洛架构核心的方法:分离共识(交易的选择和排序)和计算(交易执行和输出结果记录),并证明了这可以在不损害安全性的前提下显著提高吞吐量。在这篇白皮书中,我们分析了福洛架构如何提高性能、保证ACID,并证明了这不牺牲安全性。与传统架构相比,福洛的吞吐量提高了56倍,且不影响安全性或去中心化。本论文还指出,基于这些思想的工作系统必须对计算进行验证(也即《技术白皮书3》的主题),但是无论该问题如何解决,其核心结果都是适用的。

技术白皮书2: 区块形成

第二篇白皮书描述了福洛中出块以及基于权益证明的共识过程。福洛采用了Hotstuff共识算法的一种变体,以使共识节点在每个区块高度都就其认可的区块达成共识。本文也阐述了共识节点在解决向网络提交的异议方面有哪些责任。

技术白皮书3: 执行验证

第三篇技术白皮书回答了第一篇中提出的有关计算结果验证的问题。本文正式阐述了在合理的拜占庭假设下,我们可验证的计算方案及安全性与活性证明。尽管本文没有探索相关可能性,但我们相信,这一结果也适用于其它Bulletproofs、TrueBit、TEEs和其它可验证的计算方案适用的场景。

Technical Papers

The architecture of Flow is specified in a series of Technical Papers which explain the many nuances of the system. Technical Papers 1 & 3 have been released first because they are the most critical to understand and assess the soundness of the system while also including the results most applicable to other projects.

Technical Paper 1: Separating Consensus & Compute

The first paper describes the approach at the core of the Flow architecture: splitting consensus (selection and ordering of transactions) from compute (executing each transaction and recording its output) and proves this can dramatically increase throughput without compromising security. In this first paper we analyze how the Flow architecture increases performance, preserves ACID guarantees, and prove that it does not compromise security. The result is a throughput increase by a factor of 56 compared to conventional architectures without loss of safety or decentralization. The paper also notes that a working system based on these ideas must verify the computation (the subject of technical paper 3), but that its key result is applicable regardless of how that problem is addressed.

Technical Paper 2: Block Formation

The second in the series of technical papers formalizes the process of block formation and the Proof of Stake based consensus process in Flow. Flow adapts a variant of the HotStuff consensus algorithm for Consensus Nodes to come to consensus on the blocks they will honor at every block height. This paper also addresses the Consensus role’s responsibility in mitigating challenges submitted to the network.

Technical Paper 3: Execution Verification

The third technical paper answers questions posed by the first whitepaper around the verification of computation results. The paper provides a formalization of our verifiable computation scheme with proofs of safety and liveness under reasonable Byzantine assumptions. Although the paper does not explore the possibility, we believe this result could be adapted to other scenarios where Bulletproofs, TrueBit, TEEs, and other verifiable computation schemes are applicable.